Live Action Blue Beetle?

CBR’s daily news feed of comic-based movie/TV stuff had this today:

Geoff Johns began teasing the possibility of a live action “Blue Beetle” show. It began with this Twitter post: “BLUE BEETLE NEWS from DCE!! We have a live-action test of Jaime Reyes’ scarab activating his suit. It. Is. Awesome.” He quickly followed with “Blue Beetle’s going to appear in most of the Brave and the Bold’s this year and we’re hoping to develop a live-action show. Fingers crossed!” Then, in true Stan Lee fashion, he made this half-promise: “If I can break it out of the vault, I’ll bring it to SDCC. LIVE ACTION BLUE BEETLE!!” I suppose the important thing to glean from this is that Jaime Reyes might be coming to TV. Could he replace “Smallville?”

I hate, hate, hate, HATE Geoff Johns.  Hate him.  He can take his stupid Jaime Reyes and go die.

EDIT (time to calm down has passed): Okay, first I suppose I should explain the rant.  Ted Kord is my favorite hero.  I hated how he died and I hate his replacement.  No matter how good Jaime Reyes might be as the Blue Beetle, I will forever hate him specifically because he is not Ted Kord.  That’s just how it is.

But let’s look at the possibility of a Blue Beetle live action series.  My personal preferences aside, using the Jaime Reyes Blue Beetle instead of Ted Kord would cause problems from the start.  Unlike Kord, Reyes is a mystical hero, and to reflect his appearance and powers accurately, a decent amount of special effects would need to be used.  I highly doubt too many studios would be willing to pick up an expensive show about a character very few people have heard of.

But if it’s good, won’t people watch?  Sorry, my friend – I’m afraid not.  Good shows get cancelled all the time.  What ever happened to Firefly or Better Off Ted?  These shows were both fantastic, yet both got cancelled for whatever reason.  Blue Beetle would have the immediate hurdle of being a relatively unknown hero.  Sure, his solo book ran 36 issues, but that was more than it probably deserved given how abysmal its sales were.  Why did Smallville work so well?  Because it had Superman and his well-known supporting cast.  That brought people in and from there the quality of show took over and kept people watching.  Blue Beetle doesn’t have this kind of a hook.

So would a Ted Kord show work better?  I’m afraid not.  The draw factor is still missing, and removing the teenaged character would pull it from the CW’s (its likely home) demographic.  I just think the whole thing is destined for failure.  Anyone remember the Birds of Prey live action series?  Exactly.

And Jaime Reyes sucks.

One comment

Leave a Reply

