Why do you tease me?

Earlier this week, Warner Bros. released a teaser poster for The Dark Knight Rises.  This also fueled rumors that there would be a teaser trailer running before this week’s release of the final Harry Potter movie.  At first, my thoughts were that this is way to early for a teaser, but then I remember that at the 2007 San Diego Comic-con, there was teaser released (after a scavenger hunt).  Sure, it wasn’t a very long trailer, but it wasn’t meant to be.  Hell, it didn’t really even have any video associated with it.  It was the Batman symbol breaking away as Christian Bale (Bruce Wayne) talked about The Joker, and then it ended with Heath Ledger (The Joker) doing the laugh.  I remember that this teaser got me really psyched for the movie, because before it, like many, I questioned a bit the casting of Heath Ledger as The Joker.  And not only did this teaser get me excited for the movie, it also kicked off a year of viral marketing that I enjoyed.  So long story short (too late for that), I look forward to seeing what comes next, whether or not there is a teaser trailer attached to Harry Potter.  But if you feel like commenting, do you think it’s too early for a teaser?  Why?  How would you do things?

Leave a Reply

