DC’s New 52 and Me

Since commenting on fan reactions from the initial announcement, I haven’t commented on DC’s New 52 because I haven’t had a reason to.  Sure, titles and creative teams were announced, but I didn’t have to think about them.  But, with September quickly aproaching, I’ve forced myself to actually look at the list, and decide how I feel about each book, and whether or not I’m going to buy it.  Below, you’ll find four categories:  Definite Pull List, Considering Adding to Pull List, Some interest but not a lot, and no interest.  Details after the break.  

—Definite Pull List (11)

These are the books that I will definitely be getting after the relaunch. Most of which are books that I currently purchase, or have a creative team that I cannot resist. No further explanation need be given.

Justice League written by Geoff Johns and drawn by Jim Lee

Wonder Woman written by Brian Azzarello and drawn by Cliff Chiang

Batman written by Scott Snyder and drawn by Greg Capullo

Detective Comics written and drawn by Tony Daniel

Batman and Robin written by Peter Tomasi and drawn by Pat Gleason

Nightwing written by Kyle Higgins and drawn by Eddy Barrows

Batgirl written by Gail Simone and drawn by Ardian Syaf

Batwoman written by JH Williams III and W. Haden Blackman and drawn by JH Williams III and Amy Reeder

Action Comics written by Grant Morrison and drawn by Rags Morales

Superman written by George Perez and drawn by Jesus Merino

Green Lantern written by Geoff Johns and drawn by Doug Mahnke

—Considering Adding to Pull List (6)
These are books that may end up on my pull list in the next month.

Aquaman written by Geoff Johns and drawn by Ivan Reis.  This may get a purchase because it’s Johns and Reis.  I’ve never held much interest in Aquaman, but Brightest Day changed that.  Johns made the character interesting to me.  And I hear you saying that that was Brightest Day, and this is a relaunch, but the character is still Aquaman, and the writer is still Johns, so there’s no reason to think that the storytelling style will change.  and I like Reis’ art.

The Fury of Firestorm written by Gail Simone and Ethan Van Sciver and drawn by Yildiray Cinar.  It’s on here because I have faith in Simone’s writing.  It’d have a stronger case though if it was being drawn by Van Sciver instead of co-written by.

Batwing written by Judd Winick and drawn by Ben Oliver.  It’s here because it’s a Bat-book, and written by Winick, whom I happen to enjoy reading.  Not being a core Bat-book though is what’s keeping from being a definite pull.

Legion Lost written by Fabian Nicieza and drawn by Pete Woods.  I like Nicieza’s writing.  I like Woods’ art.  However, I’m not really a fan of the Legion.  Not certain 2 out 3 will be enough to convince me to buy this book, which has some Legion members stranded in the present day.

Stormwatch written by Paul Cornell and drawn by Miguel Sepulveda.  Probably the weakest in this section.  I like Cornell’s writing, and I like Martian Manhunter, but I really don’t care about the Wildstorm characters that are also in this book.

All-Star Western written by Jimmy Palmiotti and Justin Gray and drawn by Moritat.  I liIe what little bit I have read of Palmiotti and Gray’s Jonah Hex, but odds are, I’ll just pick this up in trade once I catch up on the current Jonah Hex series.

—Some Interest, but not a lot (17)
These are books that I could possibly  be talked into buying, but it would take a lot of effort and many good words about the title for that to happen.

The Flash written and drawn by Francis Manapul.  The Flash can be an interesting character, but an unproven artist on writing duties scares me.

The Savage Hawkman written by Tony Daniel and drawn by Billy Tan.  I actually like Daniel’s writing, but I really don’t care about Hawkman, and whatever origin they decide to go with.

Green Arrow written by JT Krul and drawn by Dan Jurgens.  I like what little I’ve read from Krul, and Jurgens art is okay.  But I’m having a difficult time convincing myself that I actually care about Green Arrow.

Justice League International written by Dan Jurgen and drawn by Aaron Lopresti.  If only this was written by Winick and had the Generation Lost cast.  Of course then, I could just read Jacob’s copy and not have to decide whether or not to buy it.

Catwoman written by Judd Winick and drawn by Guillem March.  A Batb00k with Winick and March should be an easy decision, but I’m having bad memories of Gotham City Sirens.

Birds of Prey written by Duane Swierczynski and drawn by Jesus Saiz.  Another Batbook, but I’m not familiar with the writer at all.

Supergirl written by Michael Green and Mike Johnson and drawn by Mahmus Asrar.  Green’s an okay writer that I have enjoyed reading, but I’m not really interested in Supergirl.

Green Lantern Corps written by Peter Tomasi and drawn by Fernando Pasarin.  Not buying it now, so I can’t really convince myself to buy it in the future, except during crossovers.

Green Lantern: New Guardians written by Tony Bedard and drawn by Tyler Kirkham.  Same reason as the Corps book.

Red Lanterns written by Peter Milligan and drawn by Ed Benes.  This book has a decent creative team that could do interesting things with the Red Lantern Corp, but what could they possibly do for an extended period of time with the Red Lantern Corps?

Teen Titans written by Scott Lobdell and drawn by Brett Booth.  This is the only place where I can get my Tim Drake fix, but why’d it have to be written by Lobdell?

Static Shock written by John Rozum and drawn by Scott McDaniel.  McDaniel’s art is always fun, but can’t say that I’ve ever been interested in Static Shock.

Blue Beetle written by Tony Bedard and drawn by Ig Guara.  Bedard can be a fine writer, but I agree with Jacob that Blue Beetle is better when with other people.

Hawk and Dove written by Sterling Gates and drawn by Rob Liefeld.  The characters can have an interesting dynamic to them in the hands of a good writer, and Gates is a decent writer.  However, Liefeld on art worries me.

Justice League Dark written by Peter Milligan and drawn by Mikely Janin.  Could be a fun book to read, but I didn’t care about this group when it was called Shadowpact.

Swamp Thing written by Scott Snyder and drawn by Yanick Paquette.  Good writer and artist may be able to convince me to buy a Swamp Thing book, but not likely.  More likely is that I buy a trade if I hear good things about this book.

Resurrection Man written by Dan Abnett and Andy Lanning and drawn by Fernando Dagnino.  DnA arer wonderful writers, but I had never even heard of the Resurrection Man before this relaunch.

Demon Knights written by Paul Cornell and drawn by Diogenes Neves.  Cornell is good, but is he good enough to make a book whose central character is the demon Etrigan worth reading?

—No interest (17)
Not going to bother explaining myself here anyways.  Just assume my thoughts on each one is that I expect to be awful, or couldn’t care less about it.

Mister Terrific written by Eric Wallace and drawn by Roger Robinson

Captain Atom written by JT Krul and drawn by Freddie Williams II

DC Universe Presents written by Paul Jenkins and drawn by Bernard Chang

Batman: The Dark Knight written and drawn by David Finch

Red Hood and the Outlaws written by Scott Lobdell and drawn by Kenneth Rocafort

Superboy written by Scott Lobdell and drawn by R.B. Silva

Legion of Superheroes written by Paul Levitz and drawn by Francis Portela

Blackhawks written by Mike Costa and drawn by Ken Lashley

Sgt. Rock and The Men of War written by Ivan Brandon and drawn by Tom Derrenick

Deathstroke written by Kyle Higgins and drawn by Joe Bennett

Grifter written by Nathan Edmondson and drawn by CAFU

OMAC written by Dan Didio and drawn by Keith Giffen

Suicide Squad written by Adam Glass and drawn by Marco Rudy

Animal Man written by Jeff Lemire and drawn by Travel Foreman and Dan Green

Frankenstein, Agent of SHADE written by Jeff Lemire and drawn by Alberto Ponticelli

I, Vampire written by Joshua Hale Fialkov and drawn by Andrea Sorrentino

Voodoo written by Ron Marz and drawn by Sami Basri

Leave a Reply

