Civil War Re-enactment

Earlier today, Marvel announced that they would be launching a new line of prose novels of their most popular stories of all time.  The first novel, to be released in June 2012, will be Civil War, and is being adapted by Stuart Moore.  There is currently no word on what other novels would be released.

My question is why Civil War?  I’ll admit that I didn’t really like Civil War.  I’m just not a fan of the whole “hero vs. hero” thing.  Which is probably why I find it difficult to believe that the non-comic reading, Marvel fan would be interested in something like this.  It also seems like an odd choice to release a Civil War novel so close to the release of The Avengers movie.  How do you advertise it?  “You just saw your favorite heroes team-up to fight evil, now read about them fighting each other.”  Or, “you just saw Captain America fight to save his country, now see him fight against his country.”  Or, “if you’re tired of liking Iron Man, then read about him becoming an insufferable douchebag in Civil War.”

Aside from the odd timing with the movie, I find this an odd choice based on who they have to be marketing this to.  Civil War hasn’t been around for very long, but it already seems irrelevant to today’s status quo (politely correct me if I’m wrong).  So, this can’t be a tool to bring in new readers.  Also, Civil War sold so well that any Marvel readers that may be interested probably already have it.  Personally, I think if Marvel really wanted to get people buy more Marvel products, they should have gone with a simpler, maybe older story.  Don’t ask me what, because my history isn’t very good.  But something that shows the heroes being heroes.

Leave a Reply

