The page from Fables 112 that made me giddy

Yes, I said giddy.  You wanna fight about it?  I’ll throw up a spoiler warning.  The page spoils something that happens in Fables #78.  So, if you’re reading through the series, and haven’t read that issue yet, do not continue on.  Also, why are you looking up stuff on the Internet when you’re not caught up on something?  That’s the perfect way to get spoilers.  Actually, the picture is kind of big, so I’m going to put it behind a break.

When that ghost showed up a few pages earlier to guide Rose Red to the next spirit of hope that she was to talk to on here “A Christmas Carol” type journey, I immediately recognized that ghost to be Boy Blue.  However, I don’t think it’s intended for Rose Red to recognize the ghost as Boy Blue.  Thus why she doesn’t react to seeing Boy Blue like you would expect her to.  I think it was drawn as Boy Blue to make it clear to the readers who it is.  About a year and a half ago, in story, a cult started that believed that Boy Blue would return.  I was expecting it to happen in issue #100.  Boy Blue would dramatically return, and save the day from Mr. Dark.  However, that didn’t happen.

But now, we’re about a year from another anniversary issue, and Willingham likes to have big events on the anniversary issues.  Well, every 25 issues.  At #25, it was the Battle for Fabletown.  At #50, it was the marriage of Snow White and Bigby Wolf.  At #75, it was the end of the war with the Adversary.  At #100, it was the big showdown with Mr. Dark.  So, I fully expect that this is setup for something that is going to happen at issue #125.

Of course, I may be reading too much into it, because I really want Boy Blue back.  I felt he was one of the most well-developed characters in the series.  He’s such an underdog, and it’s fun to root for the underdog.

Leave a Reply

