Around the Web

Welcome to March’s edition of Around the Web.  Today, I’m going to be doing something a little different than usual.  Normally for this column, I seek out an ongoing (at some point), and examine it.  This week, however, that is not the case.  But, it is still a comic, viewable on the world wide web, so I can still qualify it as a web comic.  This month’s featured “web comic” is Sawmill Comics Vol. 1.  It is produced by Typecast Publishing, and viewable here.  Sawmill Comics is an anthology type thing that they plan on publishing every 6 months.  This one features three entries:  “Apology” by Megan Stanton, “human, concrete” by Maureen Fellinger, and “2 Dream” by Ken Henson.  The volume was edited by Jake Snider.

“Apology.”  I’d say that this entry is the most traditional of the three.  The first time I read this story, I thought it was a jumbled mess.  Hardly anything made sense.  Then I read through a second time, and things started to become a bit clearer.  I still think it could use a bit of touch up in the art and especially in the lettering.  Not sure if it was a scanning thing, or how it was lettered, but there are several instances where it is difficult to read.  But overall, the story is pretty good, once you can piece it together, and the art is usually alright.

“human, concrete.”  I don’t really have much to say about this one.  I thought the poem, I guess you could call it, was enjoyable, but the art that accompanied each line didn’t really add anything to the experience.  They were small doodles, and the poem stood up well enough on its own without them.

“2 Dream.”  This was probably my favorite of the three.  It reminded me somewhat of Grant Morrison’s Arkham Asylum.  That may, or may not, be accurate, but that is what I was reminded of.  The art is well done, setting the correct mood, and compliments the prose nicely.  Speaking of which, the prose is a nice, chilling tale, that is very concise, devoid of any unneeded language.

Overall, I recommend checking this out, even though it may not really be “your thing.”  After all, it’s good to try out new things.

Leave a Reply

