New Scott Pilgrim News

The Scott Pilgrim series by Bryan Lee O’Malley was one that I was introduced to after it had finished.  Honestly, I had never really heard about it, other than a passing comment in Comics Should Be Good’s “Comics Critics,” until the movie came out.  Having greatly enjoyed the movie, I eventually borrowed the series from a friend, and read it all in a week.  Would have been faster, but I did have to go to work after all.  But I have yet to get around to buying them for myself.  I want to, but I seem to never to have money to buy stuff when I see them on shelves.  And after today’s announcement at Emerald City Comic-con, I find myself tempted to wait even longer to buy the entire series.

O’Malley and Oni Press have announced that they will be releasing new, slightly larger, hardcover versions that are going to be in color.  So, now I’m conflicted.  Should I buy the original black & white versions, or should I get these new color versions.  On the pro side of things, I do like color.  Personally, I prefer it to black & white.  Not saying one is better than the other, but that’s what I prefer.  Also, it’s going to have a larger page size, and larger should mean easier to see, and easier to take in the smaller details.  On the con side of things is that it’s likely going to be more expensive.  The color and hardcover are likely to increase the price.  Personally, I like cheaper.  It’s why most of my trades are softcover.

So, what do you think?  Are you interested in these new versions?  Do you think it’s a crime against humanity if a creator changes his creation after it has been published?

2 comments

  1. I say the originals. Sure, bigger and colorful may sound nice, but keep in mind that the book was not intended to be in color. The art was drawn to be viewed in black and white. They may nail the transfer, but I feel that it’s the same principle as watching old movies with color added to them. It just doesn’t seem right.

    I will take a look at them before I make final judgment (as I don’t own the originals), but I think the originals are the way to do it.

    Like

  2. I am usually a big fan of the original. I don’t care for re-colors etc. When I found out J.K. Rowlings retroactively edits/changes her Harry Potter books I about had a seizure. That being said It probably narrows down to how much you trust O’Malley. I already own the originals so it is more of a price issue for me, but I would like to think he would only let them do a color version if he really thought it added something.

    Like

Leave a Reply

