Odd thoughts on DC’s cancellations

Last week, DC announced that Blue Beetle, Grifter, Legion Lost, and Frankenstein:  Agent of S.H.A.D.E. would be ending in January.  Now, I don’t collect any of these books, and part of me was sad that two of the low selling books I do collect, The Fury of Firestorm and Demon Knights, weren’t on that last.  That’s not normal, right?

Now don’t get me wrong, I still love each of those books and will continue reading them until the day they die.  But, part of me also wants to shrink my pull list a little bit, and I lack the willpower to give the axe to anything.  (Don’t get too comfortable Superman.)  But let’s look at each book to see why I’m shocked (shocked, I say) that they haven’t gotten the boot already.

The Fury of Firestorm, up to the zero issue, has been an origin story, telling how Ronnie Raymond (a name Stan Lee could admire) and Jason Rusch become Firestorm.  It was a nice story of them dealing with other Firestorm protocols, which ended at issue #12.  The #0 issue set up the status quo for them, and presented the Firestorm that will interact with the rest of the DC Universe.  It was a nice, neat ending to the opening story arc.  Not only that, but there’s a new writer on the book starting this month.  Dan Jurgens will be writing and drawing the book.  Now, Jurgens is fine on writing duties, but in recent years, he’s been somewhat of a placeholder on books.  So, that makes me wonder what exactly his purpose on Firestorm is.  Is he there to keep the book going until they get someone to stay on the book long term, or is he there to get Firestorm to a specific point before they cancel the book?

Next up is Demon Knights.  This one is a bit of a different situation.  They are currently in the middle of a storyline in which everyone has been sent to Hell.  But in January, Paul Cornell leaves the book, and Robert Venditti comes onto it.  And the story takes place 30 years after issue #15.  So, it seems like it would have been a great time to end the book.

But this is all just my irrational, nonsensical thinking.  I should be happy that two books I’m enjoying have survived the axe for yet another round of cancellations.  Maybe I’m just trying to make sense of how DC decides what to cancel and what to keep.

Leave a Reply

