Jinxworld frustrations

Initially, this was going to be a post about how I wished Volume 4 of The Mice Templar would start already, being that the end of Volume 3 said it would start in the Fall of 2012.  Being a semi-diligent researcher, I went searching for any information regarding this.  This search led me to the Jinxworld forums. (Brian Michael Bendis’ site.)  Michael Avon Oeming (one of the creators) does have his own section there.  I get to the forums, and find that pretty much every thread is only viewable to those that are logged in.  No big deal, I’ll create username, I thought.  And that’s where my problems began.

The e-mail address I tried to use was my Gmail account.  An e-mail address that I’ve used for over 8 years, and the one I put on my resume in order to contact me.  However, I got the following message:

The administrator has banned your email address. To contact the administrator click here If you tried to register with a generic (free or temporary) e-mail service like Yahoo, Hotmail, or GMail, then your registration has been blocked. Due to security concerns, we have enacted a new policy; you cannot use a temporary or free email service ( i.e. hotmai, yahoo, gmail, etc…) when you start a new account or change your email address in your profile. You must use a permanent email account

In all the time I’ve spent on the Internet, I have never seen this as a policy.  But whatever.  I thought, maybe if I clicked “here,” and contacted the administrator, then maybe they would would be able to register me, or direct me towards an e-mail address that would work.  Here’s what I got when I clicked “here.” 

You are not logged in or you do not have permission to access this page. This could be due to one of several reasons:

The reasons are your standard, generic reasons that someone may not be able to do something on the site.  This point, I’m a little frustrated.  As the title of this page indicates.  In one final attempt to see if there’s a way to gain access to this site, I check out the FAQ section.  Of course, there is a section on how banned users may be reinstated.  And the following response made me chuckle.

Users may be banned for violating any of the posted rules or for reasons determined by any of the moderators. Banned users may appeal their banning by emailing Bendis.Board@gmail.com and the appeal will be given deserved consideration.

Do you see what’s funny?  Do you see the irony?  The support e-mail address is a Gmail account.  The support e-mail address would not be able to be used to get a username.  If a Gmail account is not good enough to register for a username, then why is it good enough to use for official business?

But I think I’m done.  Just needed to vent a little frustration.  Do any of you post on Jinxworld?

4 comments

Leave a Reply

