Dear Superman

When Scott Lobdell was announced as your writer, I knew that this day would come.  I held out for as long as could.  Maybe I’d be surprised and the book would be interesting.  Maybe it’d be worth my time and money to keep getting the book every month.  Maybe it would be a quality book.  And maybe I’ll grow a foot and become a professional basketball player.

Sadly, none of those things happened.  Though, I never really wanted to play basketball.  I gave Lobdell 6 issues, and really, that was probably 4 issues too many.  I did not enjoy a single issue, but I kept buying because I wanted things to get better.  I want you to be good.  But you’re not.  You’re that person that talks non-stop without actually saying anything of value.  You’re that person that tries too hard to sound smart, only for people to see that you don’t have a clue what you’re talking about.

But worst of all is that you’re boring.  I don’t mind things not exactly making sense,  but they have to be nonsensical in an interesting way.  You can’t try to talk over people’s heads, and be dull.  It’s okay to talk about sophisticated ideas, but you have to do it in a way that people will want to read.  You need to be like Neil deGrasse Tyson.  If you can’t do that, then you really shouldn’t over complicate matters.

It is with a heavy heart that I drop you.  I’ve been buying you since 2006, but it’s time to let go.  Maybe we can try this again when you get a different writer.  But not until then.

Good-bye Superman.

One comment

Leave a Reply

