One of my favorites

If I told you to guess what may favorite comic book based movie was, I’d bet you guess one of the Batman movies.  Knowing my fandom of Batman, it would be a safe guess.  A wrong guess.  That’s right.  My favorite comic book movie is not a Batman movie.  It’s not even a superhero movie.  And while you’re making your next guesses, Sin City is also wrong.  My favorite comic book movie is Road to Perdition.

road_to_perditionThis movie, released in 2002, was based on the graphic novel of the same name and written by Max Allan Collins and released by Paradox Press.  Admittedly, I’ve never actually read the book, but that’s beside the point.  The movie was directed by Sam Mendes (American Beauty, Skyfall), and stars Tom Hanks, Jude Law, Paul Newman, and Daniel Craig.

The movie takes place during the Great Depression.  Tom Hanks plays a mob (or is it mafia?) enforcer for Paul Newman.  He goes on a job with Newman’s son, played by Daniel Craig.  Things go horribly wrong, and Craig ends up killing someone.  All of this is witnessed by Hank’s son.  Because he witnessed this murder, Hank’s has to take his son and go on run.  Newman hires a hitman, played by Jude Law, to go after Hanks and his son.

Yes, of course, there is more to the story than that.  I just don’t want to spoil anything for anyone that hasn’t seen the movie, yet.  Because it really is a wonderful movie.  Personally, I hadn’t heard about this movie, until stumbling across at a Blockbuster (remember those?).  And with this cast, it’s surprising that this movie didn’t receive more publicity.  Maybe no thought that a Tommy gun wielding Tom Hanks was a marketable thing.  But that’s part of the allure, to me.  It goes against most of the roles I had ever seen him play.

So, if you’ve never seen this movie, I just you find a way to watch it.  I’m not saying that you should do anything illegal to watch this movie.  But you do whatever it takes to watch this movie.

tom hanks tommy gun

One comment

Leave a Reply

