Batman/Superman #1

Batman Superman 1The new Batman/Superman title released it’s first issue recently.  With it being written by Greg Pak, whom I’ve heard good things about, I decided to give it a look.  Hell, who am I kidding, even if it wasn’t written by Pak I would probably would have bought the issue.  Come on, it is a Batman/Superman title.  The only way I probably would not have bought it is if it was written by Scott Lobdell.

It’s taken me so long to write anything about it, because I really don’t have much to say about it.  The story takes place some years ago.  My first thought was that this issue should take place some time before Justice League #1, which didn’t make a whole lot of sense to me.  So, I went back and reread the issue, and it looks like the “first meeting” at the beginning is probably a mind control induced dream sequence.  Or something like that.  It’s not real is what I’m saying.  Because well, if it were to be an actual event, that would greatly conflict with events in Justice League #2.  And at the end of this issue, Batman has a Kryptonite force field.  Now that I typed that out, that does sound a bit odd.

And hold on just a minute.  During what I’m assuming is a dream sequence, we see that Catwoman was possessed, and that spirit leaves her.  This really is part of what I hope is the “dream” sequence.  Why would she be possessed then?  It doesn’t make any sense.  And then there’s something going on the end that feels weird, and it might a dream within a dream.  Gah.  This is making my mind hurt.  Guess I’ll just have to read the next issue.  I’ll check back in with you after issue #2 comes out to see if this story makes any more sense.

2 comments

  1. At present the best comic book starring Clark Kent is Superman/Wonder Woman, in my opinion. It’s my favorite comic book right now, along with a Dark Horse series called simply X.

    Like

Leave a Reply

