Two young team books ending

I am a bit behind in my reading.  Maybe a month to be exact.  So it was tonight that I read the final issues of two of my teen team books.  Those would be Young Avengers and The Green Team.  I imagine that you are at least somewhat familiar with one of those titles, but let me assure you, they are both fine titles that had potential.  Let’s start with the title that you are probably most familiar with, and who’s ending I have the most beef with.

There is not a good reason for Young Avengers to end.  The book was selling well enough.  In December, issue #14 (the second issue that month) sold 22,692 copies.  Good enough for 91st place.  That may not sound that great, but it was above other mainstream Marvel titles.  So don’t give me sales as a reason to cancel it. The other reason to end it would be that Kieron Gillen doesn’t want to write it anymore.  If that’s the case, then fine.  He’s entitled to write whatever he wants to write.  But surely there is someone that could write good Young Avengers stories.

And Marvel, if no one is coming to you with pitches, then you can go out and find a writer.  It would be quite alright to find someone that can write good stories, and go, “hey, we need you to come up with some Young Avengers stories.”  So you won’t be able to market the book based on the writer, probably.  So what?  These are good characters that people have spent time building up, and they can stand on their own.  If you’d let them.  Instead, you put them on the shelf to collect dust, until they’re needed to tie into something else.  There’s an event going on?  Sure, throw them into a tie-in.  We need to find the Scarlet Witch before AvX?  Sure, have the Young Avengers do it.  We want someplace for the Kid Loki we just created?  Young Avengers will be a good place.  

To be fair, that last one was the series that just ended, and I really liked it.  I wouldn’t be writing this rant if I didn’t.  But looking back over the issues, if Gillen didn’t need a place for Kid Loki, I doubt this run would have even happened.  Yes, there was a heavy focus on Wiccan, Loki was the one driving everything.  He was the spine of the story, if you will.  And I suppose that I should be thankful that these issues exist at all, and were as good as they were, but I’m greedy.  I want more.  I like reading stories involving characters that actually have room to develop.  Characters that don’t have decades of characterization that they’re locked into.

This brings me to the second book, The Green Team:  Teen Trillionaires.  This book was written by Art Baltazar and Franco, more famous for Tiny Titans (which is starting again).  It launched alongside The Movement, written by Gail Simone.  This was a book about rich kids wanting to be superheroes, whereas The Movement is about inner city kids with superpowers.  Granted, I feel this was the lesser of the two books, I still looked forward to it each month.  A lot of that was because these were completely knew characters, and anything can happen to them.  It was fun discovering who these characters were.

However, this is still a business, and I understand that you can’t keep a title going that isn’t selling.  Issue #7 sold 4, 753 copies, which is quite terrible.  I went back to look at issue #4’s figure, thinking that this number my have been because people dropped it after the cancellation, but issue #4 only sold 8,493 copies.  So yes, it’s completely reasonable that the book would be cancelled, but that doesn’t mean I have to be happy about it.  This just means that I have to change who I’m angry at.  I’m angry with you.  Yes, you.  I blame those that complain about the lack of interesting, and diverse characters within the superhero comics by the Big 2, and then proceeds to not buy them. It’s all your fault.  On the bright side, the last issue ends with them trying to figure out how they can be taken seriously, and their solution is to buy the right to the Teen Titans name.  Not sure if that is going to tie into anything that is going on with Teen Titans, including the ending of the title, but it was a great way to end the series.

I think that is all I have for now.  It’s always frustrating when a series you have become invested in ends.  We will see how well I’m doing in a year or so when Fables ends at issue #150.

One comment

Leave a Reply

