Words of Wisdom

Remember, you are only one person.  I know that this is a crazy idea, but just because you know or think something doesn’t mean that everyone else knows or thinks the same thing.  I’ll give you an example.  Last year, before Man of Steel came out, I got into a discussion with a friend who thought that it was pointless to put the destruction of Krypton into the movie because everyone already knew the origin of Superman.  By including the origin, they were just wasting time.  We went back and forth for a while, with my argument being that they hadn’t shown the origin in a movie since 1978.  Even if you consider Smallville, it had been 10 years since they had gone over it.  Like most arguments amongst our friends, it ended with an agreement to disagree.  A little while after that, someone asked said friend’s girlfriend to say what the origin of Superman was.  Needless to say, I laughed hysterically when I was told the story.

But as much as I like making fun of friends, that’s not the moral of the story.  Ultimately, each one of you are only one person that has created your individuality in what you have experienced and what you believe.  This individuality is great, but you have to remember that it is your own and no one else’s.  You may think that anything relating to Marvel and DC and superheroes is ridiculous crap, and that’s fine.  You may think that all webcomics are utterly terrible, and that’s fine.  You may be averse reading anything not published by the “Big 2,” and that’s alright.  Those are all your individual opinions and likes/dislikes.

Everybody is different.  And different is good.  Different is alright.  It is good to have variety within the comics community.  Having variety means that you may come across a creation that you would never have thought you’d like.  I mainly read superhero books.  That’s where my comic focus has always been.  Roughly 7 years ago, I came across a little title called Fables.  Up until reading Fables, I only thought comic books should be about superheroes.  Fantasy is great as a genre, but I thought it should be reserved for movies, television, and books.  Comics were a place for superheroes.  If everyone shared this belief, then Fables would not exist.  And that would not be a good thing.  Fables has become my favorite title, and 10 years ago, I would never have imagined that I’d ever read anything other than superhero titles.  It was good that not everyone shared my opinion of what content should be in comic books.  Had there not been variety, I never would have had the chance to buy books like Fables, Mice Templar, and The Circle, to name a few.

I think I’ve gone off on a tangent, but my point is that not everyone knows and thinks the same things that you do.  And that good.  When you find yourself not interested in something, that’s fine.  Maybe it’s not for you.  Maybe you’re not the target audience, and that’s okay.  Everything shouldn’t be marketed to you, because you are not everyone.  You are one person, and everyone doesn’t have to think or already know everything you do.  The world is better that way.

Leave a Reply

