For those of you who haven’t heard yet, my little brother Sean died tragically last Wednesday. He was just 24 years old. The circumstances aren’t exactly clear, but I don’t want to focus on the way he died. I want to remember the way he lived.

Sean was brilliant, curious, adventurous, and hilarious. Even though I was the older brother by seven years, I could always learn new things from him. Being nearly a decade apart, we didn’t have a lot of common ground when we were kids; but we always had the bond of family. We grew up in Portland, in a shabby house with not a lot of money. Things got better, but we always remembered the tough times & the good times alike, and how all of it made us who we were. It was relying on each other that kept us going. Now that we were both on the common ground of adulthood, we were relating on a new level with new experiences. I was looking forward to many more years of it. We should have been old men, complaining about robot maids & these damn kids with their rocket boots.

Sean had moved to Texas nearly two years ago with his fiance so they could be closer to her family. Though we were several states apart, we were still close. On the few occasions a year which we’d see each other, it was as if we hadn’t been apart for a day. I could always count on Sean, wether it was to lend a helping hand, give some advice, or just to make me laugh.

I want to thank everyone who’s reached out to me & my family over the last week. The donations, assistance, and kind words have meant more than I can say. For the short time that Sean was here, he left a lasting impact on a lot of people. I’ve felt kind of empty these last few days, and I don’t know if that’s a feeling that’ll ever go away. Sean was always there to encourage me. He had more faith in me than I ever had in myself. I know my brother wouldn’t want me to sit around feeling sad for too long. There’s life to be lived, and I owe it to him to make it the best life possible.

I love you, brother. And I will miss you everyday for the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

