Weekly Viewings

For the past several Falls, I have set out to do television reviews of comic based shows.  Each time I’ve tried to do this, something always happens that makes me give up on it.  Sometimes it was just the sheer volume made me feel like I was only posting TV reviews, because there was just so many.  Other times, I’d get behind on a show and not want to post a review if it was more than a few days past.  And then, I couldn’t really just skip an episode.

So, here’s what I’m doing this time.  I’m going to give a short write-up about whatever shows I watched during the past week.  If I don’t watch the episode, then it doesn’t get included.  If I watch multiple episodes, then they’ll all be included.  I’m also only going to do live action shows.  No more cartoons.  I still enjoy most of them, but they’re not aimed at me.  To start off, you will see Gotham and Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Later on, you’ll definitely be seeing Arrow and The Flash, probably Constantine, and maybe the I, Zombie show, whenever it is set to debut.  At this point, The Walking Dead is questionable.  I’ve only watched two episodes of season 4, and don’t see myself getting through the rest of that anytime soon.

On the docket for this week (spoilers ahead):

Gotham “Pilot”- In which the show premieres, and pretty much everyone is introduced.
Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. “Shadows,” in which the team plans their next course of action in a world where S.H.I.E.L.D. is hunted.

Gotham “Pilot” – A lot of things happened in this episode, because they really did introduce everyone.  It opens with who we’ve been told is Selina Kyle stealing some stuff, but the important thing is that she ends up witnessing the murder of the Waynes.  Yes, Bruce Wayne’s parents are murdered.  I know, shocking.  Partners Harvey Bullock and Jim Gordon respond to the call, though Bullock wants to quickly get out of it when he see’s who has been murdered, because he wants nothing to do with it.  Here would be a good time to mention that Bullock is a dirty cop.  I don’t really like that, but I really doubt that is going to last past this season.  Bullock is unable to pass this case off to major crimes, who consist of Renee Montoya and Crispus Allen, who are at odds with the standard GCPD.  Bullock introduces Gordon to Fish Mooney, who works for Carmine Falcone.  Fish gives them a lead on who shot the Waynes.  Turns out it was a setup, but this person, who is Ivy’s father is killed when he runs.  Oswald Cobblepot works for Fish, but is snitching on her to major crimes.  She finds out, and has Bullock tell Gordon to kill him, to prove that he’s not going to be an issue.  Gordon has him on a dock, tells him never to come back to Gotham, fires a shot beside his head, and pushes him off the dock.

That’s the gist of what happened.  There’s a lot of stuff in the middle, but that’s the main stuff you need to know for the episode.  Here are some other things you should keep in mind as the show progresses.  Gordon is dating Barbara Kean.  Edward Nigma is a lab tech within the Gotham City Police department.  Sarah Essen is the captain of the police department. Fish is trying to replace Falcone.  Oh, and there was a comedian that was entertaining Fish that some people are speculating is The Joker.  I have my doubts.

Overall, I liked the episode, and do look forward to seeing more episodes.  I’ll discuss story arcs more as more episodes build p.

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. “Shadows” – Flashback to 1945, Agent Carter and the Howling Commandos attack a Hydra base, and seize an item called the Obelisk.  In the present, director Coulson hires a mercenary team because they need all the help they can get.  The remnants of S.H.I.E.L.D. are being hunted down by the government, but they are trying to track a former agent who’s trying to sell seized items.  In a meeting with the former agent, things go wrong, the agent dies, but someone that was with him that is not harmed by bullets, takes the intel and runs.  This man turns out to be the Absorbing Man, who can transform his body into any material he touches.  Later on, he tries to kill General Talbot’s life, the Absorbing Man is captured.  Of course, they took him to the facility that houses exactly what he’s looking for.  Coulson’s agents and mercenaries sneak into the facility, but things go wrong with one of the mercenaries picks up the Obelisk.  Her arm begins turning to stone, or something.  The mercenaries make a run for it, but all but one are killed by the Absorbing Man, and he gets the Obelisk.  Coulson’s team steal a Quinjet that has cloaking capability.

Some other things to note are that Ward is being held by Coulson to provide intel on Hydra, and has tried to kill himself a couple times.  Also, after Fitz’s injury at the end of last season, he’s having a difficult time organizing his thoughts, and he’s also imagining that Simmons is still there with him, even though she has left.

Leave a Reply

