Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild trailer

This was the game I was looking forward to seeing.  Sure, for a long while, Nintendo had said it was the only game they were showing at E3, but that didn’t matter to me.  It’s new Legend of Zelda.  I’m also not the type to get discouraged by delays.  When Nintendo announced the game wouldn’t be out this year, and would be launching on both Wii U and whatever NX is, I also wasn’t that upset.  I still have a Wii U.  It’s not going anywhere.  I feel like I’ve gotten my money’s worth out of it, and I’ll probably buy an NX anyways, because I still love first party Nintendo.

But anyways, the game looks beautiful.  I love how the game looks.  It’s a cell-shaded look, but not as cell-shaded as Windwaker.  I think it’s a really good look for the game.  I feel like video games are getting to a point where, with the more realistic graphics, all games are looking the same.  I feel like you should be able to look at a screen shot without any characters, and be able to tell what game it is from.  Or at least be able to narrow it down to a couple games.

I haven’t had the chance to watch any game play videos, but from what I read, this game sounds like a bit of a departure from some traditional Zelda mainstays.  Like, there will no longer be the senseless cutting of grass just to get money and hearts.  You replinish hearts by cooking.  And hey, there’s now cooking.  It also looks like the special weapons may be gone, and instead, the “Sheikah Slate” will gain abilities.  There are other changes that you can see in the trailer below.  I am greatly looking forward to this game.

Leave a Reply

