Blue Beetle Rebirth

I don’t really get how DC is doing things nowadays.  I’m not sure what big event went where and whatnot to get us to where we are now, but I do know that some kind of reset button has been hit and now we have a Blue Beetle book with both Ted Kord and Jaime Reyes in it.  And that’s my bag, baby.

bluereb_cv1_573123b1cc5677-25131620

I am a Blue Beetle fan.  THE Blue Beetle fan, you might say.  He is my #1 go-to awesome superhero.  I truly love him.  Unfortunately, my Blue Beetle was shot in the head a decade ago and replaced by a completely different character that I could not connect with.  There was teenage angst and crazy super powers that could do pretty much everything and none of the stuff that I had loved for so long.  And so Jaime Reyes became my most hated character, simply because he wasn’t Ted Kord.  Sorry, kid.

But now after all the teasing, DC finally brings back a Blue Beetle book that puts both the Ted Kord and the Jaime Reyes Blue Beetle into play.  I get my Ted Kord back, flying the Bug and doing the no-powers tech hero gimmick while Jaime Reyes still gets to fly around being the magic whatever.  BEST OF BOTH WORLDS.

Thank you, DC.  I will take this compromise.

Leave a Reply

