Beauty and the Beast trailer

The original Disney movie is one of my all-time favorite movies.  It is one of the earliest movies that I can remember seeing in theaters.  I remember what theater.  I even remember where about we were sitting in the theater. Since this live action version was announced, I’ve actually managed to hold my enthusiasm in check.  And after seeing this trailer, I’m still holding it in check.  Don’t get me wrong, the trailer looks fine and I’m certain the movie is going to be good, but it just doesn’t have me excited.  I can’t put my finger on it.  Maybe it’s nothing more than fear of tarnishing childhood memories.  Maybe I prefer the cartoonish feel more to the gothic look of the movie.  Possibly related, many months ago I saw the stage play for Beauty and the Beast, and while I did enjoy it mostly, I left a little disappointed.

Leave a Reply

